759
Math Matters (lemmy.world)
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments

If the range of Bless is 30ft and the Cleric is 30ft in the air, then any non-zero horizontal distance would technically put them out of range. You don't need to calculate that they are 36.06ft away to know if they are out of range or not.

[-] mysterytoy@lemm.ee 33 points 5 days ago

But do their feet need to be in range or just a single part of their body?

[-] isyasad@lemmy.world 16 points 5 days ago

Depends on which part of them needs to be blessed?

[-] ShinkanTrain@lemmy.ml 7 points 5 days ago* (last edited 5 days ago)

The opposite of that happened to Achilles

[-] Archpawn@lemmy.world 25 points 5 days ago

Except the game uses Chebyshev distance, so as long as they're within 30 feet in the x, y, and z dimensions, they're within 30 feet.

Though for area damage spells, it's much, much more complicated. You don't just have to find the Euclidean distance from them to the center. You have to calculate how much of their square is within that distance.

[-] Zagorath@aussie.zone 3 points 5 days ago

Though for area damage spells, it’s much, much more complicated.

That's an optional variant rule described in Xanathar's Guide. The default rule for grids is simpler: just do Chebyshev.

this post was submitted on 10 Jun 2025
759 points (98.6% liked)

RPGMemes

12320 readers
476 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS