150
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[-] BartyDeCanter@lemmy.sdf.org 5 points 2 weeks ago

Nat 20 adds one to the degree of success, which almost always means a crit unless you are dealing with something way above your level.

[-] Ludicrous0251@piefed.zip 22 points 2 weeks ago

How some crazies want ability checks to work:

Player: I gesture vaguely towards the ancient dragon indicating I would like it to give me all of its gold and become my personal pet.

DM: Roll a persuasion check

Player: Let's see... Minus 4 because I'm still only level 2.... With a Nat-20 that's totals 16

DM: Nat-20? By golly I guess that means you succeed - the ancient dragon and its entire hoard of treasure are yours now.

[-] mesamunefire@piefed.social 15 points 2 weeks ago* (last edited 2 weeks ago)

Heh I would play it as the player is now PART of the hoard and is now the DRAGONS personal pet. The player was too persuasive lol.

And now the shenanigans is trying to get away from said dragon. And the rest of the group will now be dealing with a dragon that wants its shiny back in its hoard for the entire rest of the campaign.

Nat 20s can make for some GREAT monkey paw situations. Its really fun.

[-] grue@lemmy.world 11 points 2 weeks ago

How critical success ability checks should work:

DM: "Nat-20? The dragon is amused by your insane audacity and merely punts you out of his chamber instead of turning you into a smoking cinder on the spot. Roll for fall damage."

[-] sirblastalot@ttrpg.network 2 points 2 weeks ago

Hey, if that's what's fun for your group, fuckit, why not?

[-] itslilith@lemmy.blahaj.zone 3 points 2 weeks ago

That's Pathfinder rules, this is 5e

formally there is no crit success in 5e

[-] BartyDeCanter@lemmy.sdf.org 6 points 2 weeks ago

I don’t see any indication that it is any specific system being referenced, so I chose the better one.

[-] LeninsOvaries@lemmy.cafe 1 points 2 weeks ago

Well you're wrong. Nat 20 or nat 19 actually means you get to take another main action on the same turn, which can potentially also crit.

[-] festnt@sh.itjust.works 1 points 2 weeks ago

insight doesn't exist in pf2e

[-] chuckleslord@lemmy.world 0 points 2 weeks ago

Umm, the comment you're replying to specifically says "my 5e DM".

And again, that's homebrew for pathfinder, not pathfinder. There's only rules for critical hits in pathfinder.

[-] BartyDeCanter@lemmy.sdf.org 2 points 2 weeks ago

Flat out wrong. Per page 400 and 401 of the Player Core, “All types of checks, from skill checks to attack rolls to saving throws, follow these basic steps.“ … “You critically succeed when the check's result meets or exceeds the DC by 10 or more.” Furthermore, individual skill actions specifically list a crit effect, such as with Recall Knowledge which grants you additional information or a follow up question.

Photographic proof from the rulebook attached.

[-] chuckleslord@lemmy.world 0 points 2 weeks ago

Cool. Couldn't find it anywhere on the net that wasn't being attributed to pf2e. Doesn't change the fact that the guy you're replying to said 5e (I did recall playing with this rule in PF, but again couldn't find the rule)

[-] chuckleslord@lemmy.world 2 points 2 weeks ago

That's also homebrew inspired by pathfinder. There's no rule in 5e about crits for anything outside combat.

this post was submitted on 11 Nov 2025
150 points (97.5% liked)

RPGMemes

14347 readers
599 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS