265
submitted 2 months ago* (last edited 2 months ago) by jounniy@ttrpg.network to c/rpgmemes@ttrpg.network
you are viewing a single comment's thread
view the rest of the comments
[-] Jeeve65@ttrpg.network 90 points 2 months ago* (last edited 2 months ago)

If you look up the definition for an Object, it specifies that it is "a nonliving, distinct thing" — such as a corpse.

However, the definition of Creature does not say it must be living. So, a corpse is both a creature and an object.

There are even creatures that have never been living — such as constructs — and thus are also objects.

[-] Archpawn@lemmy.world 26 points 2 months ago

There's no rule that says dead creatures can't take action. You'll usually become Unconscious first, but instant death effects including massive damage bypass that. So you can just keep playing.

This was clearer in 3.5, where it actually had an entry for the Dead condition which did not say you couldn't take actions.

[-] stingpie@lemmy.world 11 points 2 months ago

There's no rule saying a dog can't play!

[-] Archpawn@lemmy.world 7 points 2 months ago

Dogs aren't a playable race so they can't have class levels. But there is no rule saying dogs can't learn languages. And they can be Sidekicks, but that's more a rule specifically designed to allow them to play. There's also no rule saying they can't wield weapons. One-handed and two-handed weapons both require hands to use, but there aren't actually any weapons listed as one-handed.

[-] jounniy@ttrpg.network 11 points 2 months ago

That’s on the same level as disintegrate making you able to play a sentient pile of dust.

[-] jounniy@ttrpg.network 5 points 2 months ago

I think nonliving creatures may be more specific versions of objects then, since I couldn’t find any reference of creatures not being considered objects (because who would even say that, it should be obvious if you use your brain), but it also means that if a spell or ability only allows you to target or create objects and has no specification in regards to creatures, undead and constructs are valid targets by RAW.

[-] Doc_Crankenstein@slrpnk.net 1 points 2 months ago

undead and constructs are valid targets by RAW.

I mean, if you follow the logic, undead are "animated corpses" and constructs are "animated objects", sooo.... Sure, the "Rule of Cool" wins my vote on this.

[-] jounniy@ttrpg.network 1 points 1 week ago

Yes. That's the point. But you don't need rule of cool for this. You just need to use at least a single braincell to apply RAI.

[-] Doc_Crankenstein@slrpnk.net 1 points 1 week ago

Gonna disagree, rule of cool is the deciding factor between the RAI vs RAW interpretations.

I wouldn't say it's RAI, spells or abilities meant for inanimate objects typically don't include undead under colloquial interpretations but it is definitely RAW using very technical interpretations.

this post was submitted on 04 Oct 2025
265 points (96.2% liked)

RPGMemes

14630 readers
316 users here now

Humor, jokes, memes about TTRPGs

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS