581
Rule (lemmy.blahaj.zone)
top 21 comments
sorted by: hot top controversial new old
[-] mercano@lemmy.world 93 points 10 months ago

Shouldn’t it be “affect”? Clearly not the card for anyone that cares about the finer points of English.

[-] unmarketableplushie@pawb.social 36 points 10 months ago

I mean, given it's a Magic the Gathering card, it should be something more like

You have protection from everything with more than five lines of rules text. (This includes reminder text.)

Though this needs a mana cost too

[-] Kolanaki@yiffit.net 14 points 10 months ago

Duke Nukem doesn't need mana. He's not magic. He's just a guy on steroids and testosterone. You're not actually summoning him, he just showed up.

[-] Swedneck@discuss.tchncs.de 2 points 10 months ago

the card has a cash summoning cost, where you bung him a fiver to show up

[-] evidences@lemmy.world 14 points 10 months ago

Well akshually pushes up glasses it's not exactly the same but if they made this card they'd probably make it read "You have protection from wordy (Something is wordy if it has four or more lines of rules text.)". Gotta use the key worded ability.

[-] unmarketableplushie@pawb.social 2 points 10 months ago

This is five or more lines of text though. The keyword doesn't apply.

[-] Sunrosa@lemmy.world 3 points 10 months ago

Also it should be a grey border lol

[-] pixeltree@lemmy.blahaj.zone 1 points 10 months ago

I'm not an mtg person, would protection mean only enemy spells? The original is your own too. Would be cool to have a board wipe that couldn't affect you

[-] unmarketableplushie@pawb.social 4 points 10 months ago* (last edited 10 months ago)

No, protection applies to everything with the quality.

Protection from [quality] (This can't be blocked, targeted, dealt damage, enchanted, or equipped by anything [quality].)

Protection doesn't mean indestructible though. A spell like Wrath of God would still destroy a permanent with protection from it, because it doesn't target or damage the creature.

[-] unmagical@lemmy.ml 12 points 10 months ago

No no no, it just means you can't bring out this card as a result of a spell with more than 5 lines of text.

[-] Instigate@aussie.zone 9 points 10 months ago
[-] SpaceNoodle@lemmy.world 43 points 10 months ago

Of all of Duke's toxic traits, illiteracy probably isn't one.

[-] abfarid@startrek.website 48 points 10 months ago

He's not illiterate, he's just too cool to care about that nerd stuff.

[-] ooterness@lemmy.world 8 points 10 months ago

Is he, though? Duke Nukem is a huge fanboy. He can't go give minutes without quoting some movie or other.

Relevant comic: https://thepunchlineismachismo.com/archives/comic/whos-to-say-duke-cant-have-hobbies

[-] carotte@lemmy.blahaj.zone 23 points 10 months ago

There’s an ability like that in Pokémon Showdown’s Super Staff Bros mode. It makes you immune to any attacks with complicated names.

very annoying to play against but also very funny concept

[-] kakes@sh.itjust.works 19 points 10 months ago

Sure, but what's the cost tho?

[-] evidences@lemmy.world 9 points 10 months ago

Clearly it has no mana value on purpose, you have to cascade into this bad boy.

[-] HuntressHimbo@lemm.ee 15 points 10 months ago

This is so funny because counterspell would still just be the best in the game

[-] Exusia@lemmy.world 8 points 10 months ago* (last edited 10 months ago)

Above average complexity card in Yugioh when I started- Great Moth

This monster cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by Tributing "Petit Moth" on the 4th of your turns after "Petit Moth" has been equipped with "Cocoon of Evolution".

Great Moth card effect fits as size 8 or so font. Clearly legible.

Average complexity I see onYugioh cards now - Mirage Swordsman

If a face-up FIRE Fusion Monster(s) you control is destroyed by battle or card effect: You can Special Summon this card from your GY (if it was there when the monster was destroyed) or hand (even if not). At the start of the Damage Step, if this card battles an opponent's monster: You can destroy both battling monsters. If this card is destroyed by battle or another card's effect: You can Special Summon 1 Level 7 or lower monster that is "Flame Swordsman" or mentions it, from your Deck or Extra Deck. You can only use each effect of "Mirage Swordsman" once per turn.

At this stage not only are fonts dropped to something like 3 and barely readable, but words like Graveyard got shortened to GY because there was too many letters. And for the current record holder of text "Endymion, the Mighty Master of Magic" it almost wasn't even enough.

Modern tcg will make you need this Duke card lmao

[-] raspberriesareyummy@lemmy.world 6 points 10 months ago

"Spells that have more than 5 lines of text can't bring you into existence."

Hooray for spelling.

[-] Fluid@aussie.zone 3 points 10 months ago

Protection from universes beyond crap

this post was submitted on 28 May 2024
581 points (100.0% liked)

196

17460 readers
853 users here now

Be sure to follow the rule before you head out.


Rule: You must post before you leave.



Other rules

Behavior rules:

Posting rules:

NSFW: NSFW content is permitted but it must be tagged and have content warnings. Anything that doesn't adhere to this will be removed. Content warnings should be added like: [penis], [explicit description of sex]. Non-sexualized breasts of any gender are not considered inappropriate and therefore do not need to be blurred/tagged.

If you have any questions, feel free to contact us on our matrix channel or email.

Other 196's:

founded 2 years ago
MODERATORS